There is a tricky button on your computer’s keyboard that does something completely different from what you would expect.
When you press “Delete” to get rid of some data, Windows simply marks the disk areas of the file contents as being available for other files, but does not actually delete the file content, or sensitive details about the file. To save time and resources, it only moves them to the free space of your hard drive from where they can be recovered by unauthorized parties using special software tools.
This, obviously, is not a good news if you need to make sure that some confidential data and its traces can’t be restored after deletion. If you need to get rid of financial reports, invoices, passwords, emails and so forth, don’t rely on Windows. To protect your privacy, east-tec Eraser securely wipes the file contents (stored in disk areas used for data storage) as well as the file name and properties/attributes (stored in a special area, called MFT – Master File Table).Read More